One of those days

by thewallflowerchapter

Today was one of those days where anything that could go wrong, went wrong…

Fm woke up ard 6am and didn’t go back to sleep for long. Gm had a diaper leak even though she’s been poo accident-free for months. There was a giant flying cockroach in the kitchen toilet. Chopper pooped in the kitchen. The refrigerator showed a weird error message. Our car is still in the workshop for the faulty aircon and GY had to bring gm to my parents place in a cab.

I brought fm to the polyclinic but the queue wasn’t moving and the waiting area crowded with sniffy folks. The attendant nurse took forever to key in basic details while I juggled the diaper bag and baby carrier and fm who was starting to fuss coz she was extremely sleepy. She was actually sleeping already but had to be taken out of the carrier to have her weight and height taken. She wasn’t happy. In the end I came home without seeing the doctor or getting any vaccination.

Frankly I felt quite miserable and was wondering why was the world against us today.

I was impatient, frustrated, and basically wallowing in self-pity. Why God? Why are you letting all these things happen to us?

But then I realise perhaps I’ve taken His blessings for granted all along. Perhaps this is His way of pointing my eyes to look for His blessings which have been cradling me all this while.

So I’m thankful.

I’m thankful for the car he provided for our daily traveling needs. And for the ability to call for and take cabs when the car is in the workshop.

I’m thankful that the fridge people are able to come to repair it tomorrow.

I’m thankful for GY’s willing hands to wash the poopy diaper without getting mad at gm for the accident.

I’m thankful that we have the ability to explore other options for fm’s vaccinations and doctor appointments.

I’m thankful that we are all healthy, no one is down with anything at the moment.

I’m thankful that gm has loving grandparents and she’s able to go to Ah Gong Ah Ma 家 during her school holidays, explore the library, ride a bus with my mum…

I’m thankful for a loving husband, baby smiles, toddler laughter and a dog who tried his best to hold his poo in before we opened the door for him to do his business.

My emotions are fleeting. I can feel at peace one moment, frustrated the next. But I know I have God’s peace to ask for and cling on to. So I am thankful.

