Mistakes

by thewallflowerchapter

Everyone makes mistakes.

Today, I recall 2 incidents. In the morning, I forgot to bring the little berry’s bag home from the enrichment centre, and GY was quite annoyed with me, although he tried his best not to show it.

GY broke some bottles of beer just now – at close to 10pm after we’ve put the kids to bed. It was a dangerous mess in the storeroom and beyond, glass shards n broken glass everywhere. We spent a good hour cleaning, sweeping, mopping, shifting furniture and stuff out from the storeroom.

These were 2 honest mistakes from the both of us, but as I stooped down sweeping glass shards from under the shelves, I couldn’t help but wonder if GY would have been annoyed with me had I been the one to make the same messy mistake that late at night.

I was a little saddened because my first guess was that he would’ve been quite annoyed, based on his reaction from this morning’s incident.

Then I caught myself. It was pride getting the better of me. I was comparing my (gracious) attitude towards his mistake, with his annoyance with mine. And I was thinking perhaps I’m more spiritual, more patient, more mature.

Nothing could be further from the truth! I get on my knees to clean up the mess because it’s an act of obedience to God, because I didn’t want GY to be alone down there cleaning up so late at night, because if Jesus was there, he would’ve done the same, better.

So I gather that instead of comparing attitudes, I should be thinking that whatever I do to others, I do unto the Lord.

