12 Days

by thewallflowerchapter

It’s been 12 days since we brought our little Miriam home with us, and it’s been an incredibly blessed journey thus far.

Sure, there are challenges along the way, like the night feeds and sleep deprivation, little berry’s difficulties in adjusting to having less of her mummy, and physical tiredness… But the blessings far outweigh the challenges.

I just wanted to remember this period by giving thanks:

For my husband who’s been humbly leading the household by serving us. He’s taken over most of the duties to do with little berry – going to her when she wakes, giving her her baths, milk, brushing her teeth, potty time, changing diapers, bringing her swimming, etc.

And because he’s risen to these daily tasks, I’m able to take a breather from time to time and concentrate on nursing Miriam. He’s been a pillar of strength when I was emotional when Miriam was warded for jaundice. He lifts the family up in prayer every night.

Yes we crash into bed exhausted every night and he can be v irritating by choosing to annoy me during those few precious minutes we have in the quiet of the night when both kids are in bed, but I’m extremely thankful for him.

I’m also thankful for our confinement nanny who’s been a great help in terms of meals and care of Miriam. She cooks well and we get to enjoy home-cooked meals without having to worry about the washing up.

My mother in law who faithfully buys groceries for us every other day even though she’s got her own household to run and work to do.

My sisters. Amy who braved the nights during the hospital stay with me, seeing to my every need, including adjusting my slippers when I get on/off the bed, waiting outside the shower when I bathe in case I fall, and getting up many times from her uncomfortable couch through the night whenever I move.

DJ who conscientiously took these two weeks off school so she can be around to help and play with little berry when she’s sent over to my parents’ place.

The little berry who’s been a trooper through her cough/flu ordeal and drank every ounce of medicine given to her. It’s unfamiliar territory for her to share her mummy with someone else and she’s still learning how to cope in her own way, but I’m thankful for her smiles, laughter and tenderness whenever I do witness them.

My Miriam, who’s been so brave throughout all her jaundice prick tests and phototherapy. She’s been an angel baby thus far, drinking and pooping and sleeping without much fuss. Her needs are simple and her cries few. I’m really hoping she stays this way. There’s been much joy in holding a newborn again, I’d forgotten how tiny they are and the cute kitten sounds they make.

This is a tiring, but extremely thankful season.

