Favoritism

by thewallflowerchapter

Much as I know that favoritism is part of human nature, it can be hard to swallow when I see other children favored over my child.

And I can totally understand why this happens – she’s not an extroverted child who approaches people with smiles and laughs, in fact she takes a long time to warm up to people and tend to be interested only after the other party makes persistent efforts to engage her. It’s not easy to relate to her, it takes time and much effort, but when the connection is made, the results can be priceless.

I was just sharing with GY the other day about my sentiments when I see the little berry being sidelined. It doesn’t feel nice. I feel sad for her, I wonder why was this allowed to happen…

Then I was reminded of this:
Isaiah 43:4 (NIV)
Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you, I will give men in exchange for you, and people in exchange for your life.

It doesn’t matter that she’s not favored by man, because she is God’s precious, in fact that’s what her names means. He will give people in exchange for her life, how precious she is to Him! And his favor on her doesn’t change, whatever the circumstances may be. GY and I may fall short in our love for her, but God’s love for her stands firm and is everlasting. She is his precious one. What more can I ask for?

Also, I’ve come to observe that favoritism with man often comes at a price. It could cost her opportunities where we as parents are to discipline and teach her. It could rob her of chances to learn, the hard but Godly way.

Perhaps God is shielding her from all these by pulling her out of the favoritism game. And if He is, I am glad for it. That as parents, we have the freedom to bring her up in the way of The Lord. That no one will stand in the way of us carrying out Godly discipline.

My little berry, remember that it doesn’t matter whose favorite you are, or if you’re even anyone’s favorite. Because it doesn’t matter. You are God’s precious (and ours) and that’s what counts.

