Nap wars, again

by thewallflowerchapter

It’s here again. This strange resistance to naps that drives me insane. For the past few months we’ve had a really good run of easy napping, I would feed her a bottle of milk between 2-2.30pm and she would drift off to nap without fuss. In fact she’s usually so tired by then she doesn’t always finish her milk.

But from last week, it’s like I have a different baby on my hands. She drinks her milk and does NOT nap after. I’ve had to sing/cajole/read/scold/threaten her for over an hour each time for her to finally nap. She just doesn’t seem interested in napping, or tired enough to drop off to sleep while drinking milk.

This has been driving me slightly insane coz I usually get the cooking/laundry/writing work done when she naps, so while trying to battle her down, I have all these demands at the back of my head piling up and making me frustrated with the whole no-napping situation. Plus I know she gets very easily agitated when she’s suffering from sleep deficiency, so all the more I feel the need to let her nap.

And the strange thing is, I’m really not sure why this is happening. I’ve tired to keep up our usual routine of short morning outings to buy grocery, lunch, bathe, books then nap time. But it doesn’t seem to work.

I’ve been wondering whether it was last week’s excitement (outings with GY to the zoo, parkway) that’s flipped something in her, or that she’s just got more stamina now from all that BT training she’s been having.

I’m really hoping that starting school next week will stimulate her enough to get her tired by nap time. As of now her nap times at home are getting later and later, I wonder how she will cope with the early morning wake up times when school starts.

Must remember that The Lord is in control and this too, shall pass.

