Flowers in my hand

by thewallflowerchapter

Today I had one of those exceptionally beautiful mornings.

The breeze was blowing, the sun was shy, the lawn had been cleared of poo thanks to GY, and the little berry picked up many many frangipani flowers to carefully put in my hands.

As GY drove out for work, she decided that she’ll put on her shoes to walk about in the garden. So she did. She looked so happy just walking about in the garden I decided to join her.

As I stood by the side, she picked up a fallen frangipani flower and gave me it to me, saying “give mummy”. Then she picked up another one for herself, saying “Gracie’s”. And another one for me. And another. And another. By the end of 5 short minutes, my hand was overflowing with frangipani flowers, my heart bursting with love and my eyes brimming with tears.

Whatever did I do to deserve such unreserved love? How can God be so good as to give me such a lovely daughter, to sit me down in this moment of beauty? I’ll miss my little girl when she goes to school, grows up. I’ll miss moments like these.

