A new era has begun

by thewallflowerchapter

With the little berry dropping to one nap and the team book in full production mode, I haven’t had much time to jot down my thoughts. But I know it’s important to, esp so when there’s going to be a new baby on the way! So much has happened the past few weeks, I can only begin by giving thanks:

For the gift of new life the Lord has given GY and I. We believe this is His perfect timing and are overjoyed (and overwhelmed on my part). With the pregnancy, I’ve also become re-acquainted with my old friend, Nausea. I almost forgot how un-human it makes me feel to walk around with a lump in my chest, and crazy oscillation between extreme hunger pangs, and feeling like I’ve overeaten after just 2 bites of food.. Am looking forward to the days when nausea will no longer be the first thing to greet me in the mornings… but I’m probably looking at 5 months down the road?

Watching the little berry , I’m amazed on a daily basis by her growth, ability to comprehend and pick up language, and sense of humor. She’s been a great joy to be with (90% of the time), and I cannot imagine not being able to pay full attention to her in the future… I guess the Lord will provide the means for me to cope, and for her to thrive and grow.

I’ve been ill for the past 2  weeks, and it seems that the little berry has succumbed to my sickness. She was a mess of dried mucus and runny nose this morning, and she cried when I tried to clear her nose for her. I guess all that rubbing has probably irritated her skin near the nostrils, poor girl… Her nappy rash is looking angry and red again too, I’m just praying that the Lord will deliver her from all these physical discomforts soon. She’s been a little quick-to-whine these 2 days coz of her sickness, but other than that, she’s been a real trooper and I’m so proud of her.

The way I’m proud of and thankful for GY for taking on the yoke of serving me while I’ve been ill. His workload has become much heavier lately, so I feel really bad that he’s got to feel stressed about me being sick on top of that. But he’s been amazing, buying dinner so I don’t have to cook, taking care of the little berry as much as possible so I can rest, putting her to bed every night (for which I’m always thankful), picking up groceries despite his own crazy schedule, moving to the other room so I can have the masted bedroom to sleep without aircon so I can recover faster, eating thai food coz I was craving some tom yum soup, buying crabs and oysters to cheer me up… I cannot ask for a better husband.

It’s going to be a whole new era when the next little one comes along, and I can’t wait to meet him/her on the gynae’s monitor. I think I’ll still need some mental prep to meet him/her in person since I don’t miss the crazy 2-hourly night feed, but as the post-it says on the little berry’s door still, “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

Thank you Lord, may I see and praise more of You in my everyday life, beginning tomorrow.

