In between Bali and Alaska

by thewallflowerchapter

Life in between two overseas trips has been hectic and a little unsettling. Luggages have yet to be packed, and I’m still in the midst of deciding what exactly to bring (pram? backpack carrier?).

It’s also been a period where different ones in the family have been in and out of medical appointments. Papa’s ear is infected again, Chopper has ticks and rashes, GY seems to be coming down with a cold, and I’m also not operating at 100%.

But still, there is much to be thankful for. So I shall list them down:

I’m thankful for the reminder fr Psalm 19 that the heavens declare the glory of God’s love, and that I can have a glimpse of His glory when I just pause and look up into the sky, wherever I am.

I’m thankful that the little berry’s 1st birthday BBQ went well with both sides of the family. She had quite a few presents and I’ll be rationing them to her after we’re back from Alaska.

The Bali trip was tiring but I’m thankful that we got the chance to spend extended time as a family. The two massages I had were a real treat and the daily swims also showed us that the little berry is much more comfortable in the water now. Although tiring, it’s been nice having her sleep in the bed with us, and it’s nice to wake up to her cheeky face in the mornings, where she would do silly antics to wake us up to play with her, like kissing us, trying to hide herself and then going “there”!

I’m thankful for the simple anniversary celebration GY and I had before all the birthday and travel madness set in. I had the idea of renewing our wedding vows to each other but he beat me to it by writing his vow to me on his card, which I cherish very much. With the coming of the little berry, it’s been hard for the past year to intentionally carve out time for each other… so I really treasure whatever private time we have together, and hope we’ll create more pockets of space for each other.

