Smiles & Sleep Training

by thewallflowerchapter

Every morning when I enter the little berry’s room ever since sleep training started, I always pour over her face for the slightest hint of smiles or cheer.

I guess I’m always concerned whether she feels unloved or abandoned by the lack of attention over the course of the night, especially when she cries and we don’t go to her.

Some mornings, she greets me with a great big smile. Some mornings, like today, she doesn’t. And I begin to worry about whether she hates me for not coming to her, whether there’s something in her that’s broken because we refused to attend to her needs in the middle of the night. At times like these, it’s hard to remember that we had prayed for God to be with her in the room, and to let her feel loved.

I don’t know what’s going on in her little mind, but I really hope she knows we love her too much to allow her to have interrupted, disturbed sleep.

