New Every Morning

by thewallflowerchapter

Read this from a blog and would like to remember it… Indeed God supplies His grace for each new day.

I used to pray that the little berry will sleep through the night, that she won’t wake up at all and when I open my eyes, it’ll be morning. Of course I would love for that to happen still, but I’m beginning to learn that perhaps, God wants to mould me to become better than that. Perhaps He wants me to grow from being out of my comfort zone.

The past few nights, I found myself praying over the little berry, that she would be comforted, that she would feel safe and secure in her sleep, that if she should wake up, God will give GY and I the patience and wisdom and strength to comfort her, to carry her, to love her. Even if it means sleeping for less than 3hrs at a stretch, God knows and He will supply all that I need the next day, His grace is sufficient for me.

+++

We had received much grace and mercy that night, and we knew it. Grace specifically designed for that day; for that need.

It’s beautiful, isn’t it? Grace supplied so liberally, so perfectly by such a generous God and when we so desperately needed it. This got me thinking about my typical day-to-day life. How I often, unintentionally and unknowingly, lump all my days together. How I fail to recognize that it is a new day with new joys, new sorrows, new trials and new triumphs awaiting me. How often I rely on the grace I had yesterday to get me through the day today. 

(A common scenario: I am the gracious and patient mom that I desire to be one day, but then the next day I am just the opposite – then I wonder what just happened?! I wrongly assumed that today would be the same, because somehow it carries over, right?)

Rather I ought to come before the Lord each morning in prayer, specifically asking God for the grace to fulfill what He has for me today – not yesterday, not tomorrow – today.

For each day is a new day – with new mercies from the Lord. “The Lord’s lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, for His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23.

