Feeding herself

by thewallflowerchapter

The little berry has been showing astounding development in the eating department.

Just a few days ago, I was about to feed her some fruits and went to look at what we have in the fridge. Some peaches were staring at me so I thought why not, let her try a peach.

I was going to do the cut-and-mash thing for her but I thought she should at least see how the fruit looks like before eating it. So I held the peach in front of her, and let her hold it. She got really excited and was held onto the fruit very well and before I knew it, she’s bringing it to her mouth and trying to gnaw at it with her gums!

I was very amused and thought since she’s showing interest in feeding herself, let’s go along with it and see where this leads us. I peeled off the skin of the peach for her and held it out to her once more. This time round, she was able to actually taste the fruit and became very enthusiastic about chomping down on it with her gums.

So on and on she went, happily holding onto the peach with both hands as she gnawed at the fruit. She managed to eat about 2/3 of the fruit!

The next day, I thought since she’s showing interest in self-feeding, maybe she can try feeding herself with a spoon. So when her interest was beginning to wane at the food I was trying to put into her mouth, I scooped up some food and held it out in front of her. She started trying to touch the food on the spoon so I guided her hand to the spoon itself and this was when she shoveled the food into her mouth herself! I guess this is what you call a win-win situation: she has fun learning to feed herself while I no longer have to headache of trying to get her to finish the last few spoonfuls of food, yay!

