3.30am sleeplessness

by thewallflowerchapter

Last night was probably by far one of the worst nights since the little berry came home. Even if she wakes up a few times during the night, she would usually go back to sleep without much fuss after nursing.

Last night was a different story. She started fussing at 3.30am and I happened to be up coz my left boob felt like it was going to explode. So I thought, why not nurse her now then we can both go back to a good sleep.

After changing and nursing her (her romper was soaked, probably why age woke up), she was drowsy and I plonked her back in the cot and that’s when her eyes blinked wide open. She started flailing her arms and legs which isn’t uncommon but then she went on and went and didn’t seem sleepy at all (usually she would move around, yawn, and her eyelids would struggling to stay open).

And so the night of never ending terror began. She fussed. I picked her up. Nursed her. Put her back in the cot. She fussed. I picked her up. Nursed her. Blah blah blah… at one time she finally went to sleep and I thought OH GREAT and hurried back to bed, only to be woken up 40mins later to the cycle of horror.

What made it worse was that she wasn’t hungry anymore so she refused to nurse and I had to carry and rock her to sleep. At 6am. When the sun was about to rise and people should be waking up instead of trying to sleep.

The rest of the night/morning was a blur and when I finally went back to bed, I felt like a true blue character from The Walking Dead. I uttered a prayer for grace to see me through the day ahead before zonking out.

I can’t remember what time in the morning did she wake up but thank God GY was there to go get her. He brought her downstairs for a bit so I can snooze for a while more, I was super grateful coz I really really needed that extra 20mins of sleep.

I guess I should probably add to my entry yesterday – I should never take for granted that the little berry will sleep through the night OR THAT she will go back to sleep after waking up in the middle of the night. Because she’s proven that she’s fully capable of making a zombie out of me at 6am.

