Sleeping through the night

by thewallflowerchapter

If there’s anything I’ve learnt over the past couple of weeks, it is that I should NEVER take it for granted that the little berry will sleep through the night. Even if she’s been doing so for a while.

Just when GY and I thought that we’ve reached home base when the little berry was consistently clocking 5-7 hours of sleep a night, everything was thrown out the window when she reached the 3-month mark.

She started wanting to nurse ALL THE TIME, sometimes every hour during the day. She woke up every 2 hours at night sometimes to nurse, sometimes crying pitifully in need of comfort.

All this resulted in a very zombified and frustrated me. I was questioning my milk supply. I was wondering whether my methods, if you can even call it that, was working against me. I surfed websites after websites for answers, often in the wee hours of the morning when I nursed the little berry.

At one point I even let her cry it out for 20mins after I was at my wit’s end when she woke up for the 4th consecutive time that night.

I tried to remember that there’s this thing called the 3-month growth spurt. That this will pass and she’ll be back to regular programming. But it was hard to hang onto that hope in between a screaming baby and a cow-like existence.

I tried to remember that God is in control. And something a fellow mummy said during CG, that sometimes there isn’t an explanation or reason for everything that happens to a baby.

After close to 1.5 weeks of wondering and hoping and waking, the little berry finally pulled through and kept for 5-7 hours for the past few nights. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I heard her cry this morning and checked my phone and it said 6.20am. Honestly I felt like a brand new human being, having had the luxury of a 6-hour sleep.

I don’t know how long this glorious stretch will last, but I know now never to take for granted that sleeping through the night is a given. Because it is not. It is a gift and a blessing and I am super grateful for it. When it does happen.

