The Hardest Thing

by thewallflowerchapter

I personally experienced today that one of the hardest things a mother can go through is knowing that her child is in pain.

Brought the little berry to the clinic this morning because the rash on her left eyebrow has gotten worse and there’s a layer of yellow crust on it. Turns out it’s a rather common form of skin irritation newborns are prone to have. Upon seeing that she’s quite jaundiced, the doctor also sent her for a blood test to check her liver.

GY and I went to the lab this afternoon to get her blood test done and it was the most excruciating 5mins I’ve had to wait. Already hungry before the trip, she was brawling her lungs out in the lab most pitifully. GY later told me that they used a double pointed needle to slowly drip and collect the blood from her hand. I was horrified! I’m not sure if it’s the hormones or lack of sleep or sheer heartache at knowing that she had to go through that, I started tearing as well. They were right to ask me to leave the room. I would’ve probably tried to stop them from poking her.

In other news, last night was tough. She woke up 4 times and I hardly had much rest in between. At one point I was really frustrated with her. But somehow when I saw her crusty eyebrow and flaky face in the morning, all the frustrations just melted away and I realised I really don’t mind waking up so many times at night as long as she’s healthy. That’s what’s really important.

