Last Night Was Tough

by thewallflowerchapter

Last night was tough. The little berry kept getting frightened in her sleep, and didn’t want to be put back in her cot while awake. Both GY and I were at our wit’s end of what to do with her. Walking around with her helped, then after a while it didn’t. I put her to the breast and she quietened down, all the while wondering whether I’m letting her form a “bad habit”, but after a while I decided I was too exhausted to care about these theories people conjure up.

I also wondered whether she’s still hungry after her feed. Maybe I might have been a little too rigid with the way I time her feeds. If she stops suckling after 20mins, I usually unlatch her immediately. Maybe she just needed more help staying awake to have her fill. But of course all these is guess work, I really have no idea what’s going through her mind.

She woke up crying at 1am last night, probably the first time out of fright rather than out of hunger. It didn’t take very long to soothe her (all she needed was some cuddling and bouncing), but it did take a lot of patience and will power against the desperate need for sleep.

Indeed I need God’s compassion, which thankfully is new every morning.

Dear Lord, thank you for last night, even though it was quite horrible. But thank you for finally putting her to sleep and letting her last a good 4hour stretch between night feeds, despite the waking up for other reasons. Thank you for bringing me and GY through.

I pray that the little berry will feed well and sleep well today. I pray that she will be alert at the breast and really take in all the nutrients she needs. I pray against all things that frighten her.

I pray lord that you give us grace to go through today. Give us the patience to try and understand what the little berry needs and the strength to see to her needs. Give us the love in doing so, so that we may be doing it out of genuine love and not obligation.

We need you Lord, for we cannot do this alone. Grant us your wisdom through this period and keep us from falling sick. Thank you Father, in Jesus’ name, Amen.

Hebrews 4:15-16
For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

