Mother & Daughter

by thewallflowerchapter

I did something I’m very ashamed of. I told my mum off for mixing the white and colored clothing in the washing machine. When I saw the clothes swirling in the washing machine, I lost it and was very rude to her for not following my instructions. I then proceeded to dig out all the white linen and when she tried to help me, I rebutted with something to the effect of “If you’re not going to listen to me and follow my way of doing things, I’ll just do things myself.”

After I left the kitchen, I came upstairs to shower (another area of contention here) and nurse the little berry. While I was nursing, I felt an overwhelming sense of guilt. She didn’t have to help me with the laundry at all, she was just trying to make things easier for me, and there was no excuse for my behaviour towards her. I felt so bad I texted GY and told him about it. He told me to pray and apologize to her. I prayed, but I know the apology might be hard because whilst I love my mum a lot, we’re not the kind who would really talked in-depth.

A while later, there was a knock on the door and she came into the room. She wanted to check with me on how to operate the rice cooker because she wanted to cook rice for my lunch. I told her the buttons to press and before she left, I told her that I was sorry. What she said gave me a glimpse of what a mother’s love is… “It’s ok, don’t worry about it, there’s no hard feelings between mother and daughter.”

Alone with my daughter in my arms after she left, I wondered if I’ll be as great a mother as my own mum. Perhaps God gave all mothers an added dose of grace to forgive and love, beyond what we can imagine.

